September/October Blog

Welcome to my blog. I arrived in prison in 1997. at the age of nineteen. I hardly know what a blog is… I’m an emerging fine artist with a burgeoning exhibition history. To learn more about me visit <www.seanjwhiteartist.com>

Something from Nothing

The idea of  void is a paradoxical thing. On the one hand it contains absolutely nothing, it denotes the absence of anything. Yet the idea of the concept gives life to emptiness, making nothing something.

When I sat down to write this months blog I couldn’t think of a topic. Threads of thought began to weave tapestries of possible books, and I want to keep this to a few hundred words. Then the struggle against the absence drove me to the void:

 

 

Do you see it.

 

 

How about now?

Everything around the empty space delineates it. Void therefore becomes a thing just as much as that which surrounds it.

Negative space can be just as important as the clutter of …well…things. Japanese Ukiyo-e provide the most well-known examples of negative space use in art, particularly Hokusai’s The Wave. The surrounding space carries as much weight as the wave itself. Proper balance of line and shape in the picture plane increase the importance of every square millimeter, and even  makes the areas with nothing become something.

And The Angel Gabriel Said Unto Me: This Is an Hallucination, Get Over Yourself

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment